I had some fun Danish homework to do last week: finishing lots of sentences with my own answers. Apparently this is something that appears in one of the Danish newspapers when minor celebrities answer random questions.

Ever my mother’s daughter, I adore answering any kind of questionnaire. So this homework was a lot of fun, even though the answers were requiring me to do a lot of dictionary work as I looked up new words. I thought you’d like a peek so here’s my homework, translated into English for anyone reading who’s not my husband or my mother in law :)

p.s. full disclosure – this is the corrected version of my homework you’re seeing here. I’m not quite so confident to show you what I wrote first time round :)

Snakkede jeg ikke med dig lige nu, ville jeg forlade kontoret og begynde weekenden! Jeg ville lave god mad og drikke vin, og bagefter måske gå i biografen med min mand.

If I wasn’t talking to you now, I would… leave the office and start the weekend! I would make some good food and drink wine, and afterwards maybe go to the cinema with my husband.

Den største oplevelse i mit liv var… at blive gift. Det var ikke den bedste dag i mit liv, fordi jeg har haft mange dejlige og vidunderlige dage siden da. Men det var dagen mit liv ændret største. Bagefter boede vi sammen og planlægge fremtiden sammen. Og jeg føler mig mere sikker fordi jeg ved, vi er et team for livet.

The biggest experience in my life was… getting married. It was not the best day of my life, because I have had many lovely and wonderful days since then. But it was the day my life changed the most. Afterwards we live together and lay plans for the future together. And I feel more secure because I know we are a team for life.

Jeg er træt af mig selv når… jeg bekymrer mig om mit udseende mere end min karakter og personlighed.

I am fed up with myself when… I worry about my appearance more than my character and personality.

Sidst jeg var ude at rejse var…. for 2 uger siden, da vi rejste til Marrakesh i 6 dage. Det var vores første gang i Marokko derfor var det rigtig spændende at udforske. Det varme vejr var også meget velkommen!

The last time I was abroad was… 2 weeks ago, when we travelled to Marrakech for 6 days. It was our first time in Morrocco and so it was really exciting to explore. The warm weather was also very welcome!

Den historiske person jeg helst ville være er…. ? Det er et rigtigt svært spørgsmål! Jeg kan godt lide at læse biografier af historiske personer. De er interessante for mig fordi de havde mange udfordringer og vanskeligheder og har ikke givet op, fx. Nelson Mandela, William Wilberforce, Emmeline Pankhurst.

The historical person I would most like to be is… ? This is a really difficult question! I like to read biographies of historical figures, but they are interesting to be because they had many challenges and difficulties og didn’t give up, for example Nelson Mandela, William Wilberforce, Emmeline Pankhurst.

Sidst jeg brugte mere en 1000 Kroner var… da vi købte en designer lænestol med penge fra vores bryllup. Den var rigtig dyr men vi elsker den og den skal holde mange år!

The last time I spent more than 1000 kroner (€134) was… when we bought a designer armchair with money from our wedding. It was really expensive but we love it and will keep it for many years!

